[Offtopic] o/t: the VIT associated with spam email?

stephen at melbpc.org.au stephen at melbpc.org.au
Tue Apr 29 03:12:29 EST 2008

Hi all,

This strange email arrived today .. did anyone else get one?

From: Victoria Institute of Teaching <pdi.vit.vic.edu.au at xmr3.com>
To: stephen at melbpc.org.au 
Date:   Mon, 28 Apr 2008 06:53:00 -0400 
Subject:   PDI - The Right PD Choice 

<snip, a very large graphic, which i declined to download>

"As a teacher you constantly reflect on your knowledge and look for new 
ways to engage your students in learning. Professional development is an 
integral part of the ongoing commitment to being a better teacher.

Pdi is the new online search engine that makes choosing PD easy. With the 
most powerful database of PD providers in Australia, you can search by 
course, subject, content or provider. Searching is simple and Pdi connects 
you directly with providers.

All the PD on Pdi references the standards of professional practice and 
principles of effective professional learning - your assurance of quality 
and relevance. To make the right PD choice, enter Pdi now."

<snip, another two large graphics, also declined>

<end of email>

So it appears the VIT are somehow associated with badly-written spam-email.

For example, at <http://www.vit.vic.edu.au/content.asp?Document_ID=833>:

Pdi the right PD choice
Opening Term 2, 2008
Online access to thousands of PD services, programs and providers. 

Pdi will help teachers meet the new professional development requirements 
by offering information on a wide range of provider programs and services. 
Teachers can use Pdi as a one-stop-shop for all their PD needs.

For more information

Email  pdi at vit.vic.edu.au


as proud VIT members
tell us it ain't so ..

Stephen Loosley
Victoria, Australia

More information about the offtopic mailing list